Penn Street Cricket Club News story


20 Nov 2021

2021 Awards


A fantastic night was had by all who attended the 2021 Dinner Dance at The Bull in Gerrards Cross. As ever, our thanks to Jo and Emma-Jane for their hard word in arranging it all and to Jane for compering the evening in her usual effervescent and inimitable style. We were treated to an inaugural speech from our new President and David Jones gave an excellent players' speech.


The high spot of the evening was, of course, the presentation of the awards for the season just finished. In order of presentation, these went to:


Oxley cup for batting:          Peter Jupp               - presented by Rick Best

Krinks cup for bowling:        David Adams           - presented by the new first lady

                                                                                      Bronwen Reavey

HF Charrington cup for

fielding (most catches) :      Sam Martin              - presented by Caro O’Hagan

Sixes cup:                              David Jones            - presented by Brian Bate

Hoff cup (contribution

by a player off the field

of play):                                  Asif Teja                   - presented by Mark Lander

Hearne Pegden cup

(contribution by a

non-player):                           Emma Jane Lander - presented by Ady White

Most Improved player

(who receives a

coaching session

at Lords):                               Jonny Barnett         - presented by Lizzie Newman

Player’s Player cup:             David Jones            - presented by Katy Knox


The Champagne Moment went to Josh Tollerfield for his two centuries against High Wycombe CC. Messrs Jones and Jupp took home the Magnum Moment for their 325 run stand for the second wicket against Old Citizens CC and a special Schloer Moment was given to Caitlin Macken for being the first woman to take a wicket for PSCC (champagne to be provided at 2025’s dinner when she is old enough to have it). All of the awards were presented by Rob Sutherland.


The much-coveted Penn Street Moment was presented to Sam Martin by Cally Sutherland for his expletive-laden walk off the pitch against Cross Arrows after Pete Jupp ran him out.


That was not the end of the awards, though. The club has decided that, going forward, we will reward players for their loyalty and career achievements. We have commissioned special caps, to a design by President Reavey, which will be awarded to players who have played at least one game for the club since 1 January 2020 and who score over 2500 career runs, take more than 100 career wickets and most importantly of all who play more than 100 games for PSCC.


This initiative was announced after the awards and caps were presented to those who were present. The initial recipients are:


Batting: Tyler Armiger, Steve Exton, David Jones, Pete Jupp, David Lander, Jack Mendy, Matt Reavey, Chris Russell and Rob Sutherland*


Bowling: David Adams, Tyler Armiger, Robert Fryer, Paul Goodchild, David Jones, David Lander*, Nick Loftus and Jack Mendy


Appearances: Rob Sutherland, Richard Spooner, Steve Smith, James Sempill, Chris Russell, Matt Reavey, Jack Mendy, Sam Martin, Nick Loftus, David Lander, Pete Jupp, Paul Goodchild, Mark Gloyens, Robert Fryer, Steve Exton and Tyler Armiger.


(*Apologies to Rob and David. Due to the club secretary being a blithering incompetent they were not given these caps on the night but will be presented with them at a later date).